3 January 2013

More from the Newberry application essay.

“As if starting a career in academia isn’t intimidating enough, I’ve chosen a field that is in its infancy. Though I’ve made strides in forming relationships with relevant scholars, I still feel as though I’m working without a community of scholars around me. I’m in touch with a graduate student at Yale who is working on the Midwest, and he has related a similar feeling. I believe that Midwestern Studies is an emerging field, and as time goes by its importance will become increasingly obvious. I see projects like this institute as vital for forming the community of scholars that is currently lacking. Starting out my academic career here will be a great way for me to be a part of forming that community.”

Leave a Reply

